Distinguished Awards

The College of Liberal Arts and Science's Distinguished Awards are presented to outstanding members of the college community who are celebrated for their prominence in their professional field or through their civic, cultural or charitable service, or who have made major contributions to the college and its reputation for excellence. They were established following the college's 50th anniversary in 2009.

Each year, a wide range of nominations are submitted by students, alumni, staff, faculty and friends of the college. Nomination materials are evaluated by a selection committee comprised of alumni, faculty and staff who are appointed by Dean Brinkmann.

All awardees are invited to the NIU campus, where they receive their awards at an annual celebration held in Barsema Alumni and Visitors Center.

Nomination Forms

The nomination deadline is March 29, 2021.

2019 Honorees


John Burns
B.A., English 1988

Joyce C. Ester
Ph.D., B.A., Sociology, 1987

Nicolaus Harjanto
Ph.D., Political Science, 2010

James Lamb
B.A., Social Science, 1951
M.S., Education Administration, 1953

Patrick Korellis
B.S., Geography, 2008
B.S., Meteorology, 2008


Katharina Barbe
World Languages and Cultures

Philip A. Gray
Department of Communication

Amanda H. Littauer
Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality
Department of History

Marion Miller
Department of Chemistry


Aleksandar Kosoric
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Philip P. Young
Department of Geographic and Atmospheric Sciences

Contact Us

Dean's Office
General Information

Phone 815-753-7953
Zulauf Hall 312

Add/Drop Class, Enroll, Transfer, Withdraw, etc.

Phone 815-753-0114
Zulauf Hall 201